University of Oxford, UK

The university is made up of thirty-nine semi-autonomous constituent colleges, five permanent private halls, and a range of academic departments which are organized into four divisions.

University of Oxford
Coat of arms of the University of Oxford.svg

Coat of arms
Latin: Universitas Oxoniensis
Other name
The Chancellor, Masters, and Scholars of the University of Oxford 
Motto Latin: Dominus illuminatio mea
Motto in English
The Lord is my light
Type Public research university established
Established c. 1096; 927 years academic
Academic affiliations
  • IARU
  • Russell Group
  • Europaeum
  • EUA
  • LERU
  • SES
  • Universities UK
Endowment £7.678 billion (including colleges) (2022)
Budget £2.775 billion (2021–22)
Chancellor The Lord Patten of Barnes
Vice-Chancellor Irene Tracey
Academic staff
6,945 (2022)
Students 26,455 (2021)
Undergraduates 12,580
Postgraduates 13,445
Other students



51°45′18″N 01°15′18″W

Campus University town
Colours   Oxford Blue
Sporting affiliations
Blue (university sport)
Website Edit this at Wikidata
University of Oxford.svg

Subscribe Now