The University of Oxford is a collegiate research university in Oxford, England. There is evidence of teaching as early as 1096 making it the oldest university in the English-speaking world and the world’s second-oldest university in continuous operation.

Coat of arms of the University of Oxford.svg

Coat of arms
Latin: Universitas Oxoniensis
Other name
The Chancellor, Masters, and Scholars of the University of Oxford
Motto Latin: Dominus illuminatio mea
Motto in English
The Lord is my light
Type Public research university established
Established c. 1096; 927 years academic
Academic affiliations
  • IARU
  • Russell Group
  • Europaeum
  • EUA
  • LERU
  • SES
  • Universities UK
Endowment £7.678 billion (including colleges) (2022)
Budget £2.775 billion (2021–22)
Chancellor The Lord Patten of Barnes
Vice-Chancellor Irene Tracey
Academic staff
6,945 (2022)
Students 26,455 (2021)
Undergraduates 12,580
Postgraduates 13,445
Other students



51°45′18″N 01°15′18″W

Campus University town
Colours   Oxford Blue
Sporting affiliations
Blue (university sport)

Subscribe Now